This project is read-only.

attempting to start with CUDA

May 5, 2015 at 3:59 PM
Edited May 5, 2015 at 4:52 PM
hello, I am very new to CUDA.
I have a lot of experience with c# but none with c/c++, that's why I decided to start with managedCUDA.
I have a laptop with win7 32bit, WITHOUT NVidia. I am trying to install just the NVidia Toolkit without the drivers. At the moment, I just want to be able to build a project. To run it I would like to use some kind of emulator, like Waste.
I was not able to install Cuda 7, so I installed 5.5 (and I am not able to upgrade). I also installed managedCUDA.
I tried to create a c# project using the demo code shown on managedCUDA's home page. the reference to managedCUDA dll works fine but I do not know how to reference the NPP library.
In C:\Program Files\NVIDIA GPU Computing Toolkit\CUDA\v5.5\bin I found these 3 files: nppc32_55.dll, nppi32_55.dll and npps32_55.dll but I am not able to add a referance to any of them.

I would be very grateful for any help!
regards,
Jakub
May 5, 2015 at 6:24 PM
First of all, when using the 5.5 toolkit, you also need to download managedCuda for version 5.5. Then in the download you'll find several dll-files, one for each library (managedCuda core, NPP, CUFFT, etc.). These are the .net-dlls you need to reference in your project, not the native ones from the toolkit.

Cheers,
Michael
May 6, 2015 at 9:28 AM
Hi Michael,
great, it works!
I am just wondering if there is a way to upgrade Cuda from 5.5 to 7.0 (installer does not work, so i might try to unzip and replace the files manually)..
and if so, and using also managedCuda 7.0, then what about tne npp.dll ? I did not find it in 7.0.
Cheers,
Jakub
May 6, 2015 at 11:03 AM
Check out the x86 or x64 folder, there you'll find it.