Struct/Class passed to CUDA

Apr 24, 2015 at 11:29 AM
Hello,

I'm Sebastian, and I'm new in Cuda coding. I have some problem.
I would Like to work with my classes made in c# in Cuda kernel, but passing class by "copytodevice" is impossible (only non-nullable types...)

So I've changed classes to struct but still i cannot manage to use them in Cuda

my struct in C# looks like this:
   [StructLayout(LayoutKind.Sequential)]
    public struct NodeData
    {
        public int id { get; set; }
        public int2[] e_Id { get; set; } 

public NodeData(int2[] _e_Id) :this()
        {
            this.e_Id = _e_Id;
        }
    }
in CUDA kernel:
typedef struct NodeData{
    public:
        std::array<int2,8> e_Id; 
        //int2 e_Id[];  <- this not working
        NodeData(std::array<int2, 8> _e_Id) : e_Id(_e_Id)
        {
        }
    }NodeData;
I have array NodeDatList with elements NodeData, which I'm trying to copy to GPU by calling this instruction:
CudaDeviceVariable<NodeData> d_NodeDataList = new CudaDeviceVariable<NodeData>(NodeDatList.Length);
             d_NodeDataList.CopyToDevice(NodeDatList);
I'm getting error that I'm trying to copy object containing none- basis or none-copyable type of data.
So after searching, I'm guessing the problem is with e_Id array inside struct. There is any way to copy array of arrays ? Another problem is that E_Id are different sizes, but never exceeds 8 elements.
I really don't know what to do. I will appreciate any help.

PS. Sorry for my English.
Coordinator
Apr 24, 2015 at 1:34 PM
Hi,

when you copy around arrays, every element must have the same size without inner pointers pointing to other memory areas. (This is Cuda unrelated and is valid for C and C#.) So you can't copy array of arrays directly.

You kind of have two options: make every element (NodeData) fixed size, i.e. 8 elements so that the struct is one consecutive memory area without inner pointers:
In Cuda:
typedef struct NodeData
{
    public: