SparseMatrix and C#

Feb 10, 2013 at 7:54 PM
Hi all.
I'm pretty new to managedCUDA. I want to solve a linear sparse equation system but was not able to find ANY example even on the web!
can you please give a C# code example with a random sparse matrix (just want to see how should define matrix for you library).

Regards
Coordinator
Feb 11, 2013 at 11:42 AM
Hi,

to use cusparse library from CUDA with C# you have two options: either you use the same API as described in cusparse manual (You can find the entire API as members of CudaSparseNativeMethods), or you use the managedCuda wrapped API (a bit more object oriented and bit more like C#) as the following:
using ManagedCuda;
using ManagedCuda.BasicTypes;
using ManagedCuda.CudaSparse;

(...)

//Create a CudaSparseContext
CudaSparseContext ctx = new CudaSparseContext();
ctx.SetPointerMode(cusparsePointerMode.Host);

int m = 10; //matrix of size 10x10
int nnz = 15; //15 non zero elements

//Matrix descriptor for A
CudaSparseMatrixDescriptor descriptor = new CudaSparseMatrixDescriptor(cusparseMatrixType.Triangular, cusparseFillMode.Upper, cusparseDiagType.NonUnit, cusparseIndexBase.Zero);

//Matrix:
//    |0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
//----|-------------------
//  0 |1 0 2 0 3 0 4 0 0 0
//  1 |0 5 0 0 6 0 0 0 0 0
//  2 |0 0 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
//  3 |0 0 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0
//  4 |0 0 0 0 9 0 0 0 0 0
//  5 |0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 0 0
//  6 |0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 0
//  7 |0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0
//  8 |0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 4
//  9 |0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3

//Non zero elements values of A
CudaDeviceVariable<float> csrValA = new float[] {1.0f, 2.0f, 3.0f, 4.0f, 5.0f, 6.0f, 7.0f, 8.0f, 9.0f, 8.0f, 7.0f, 6.0f, 5.0f, 4.0f, 3.0f};
CudaDeviceVariable<int> csrColIndA = new CudaDeviceVariable<int>(nnz);
CudaDeviceVariable<int> csrRowPtrA = new CudaDeviceVariable<int>(m + 1);

//Column index of each element
int[] csrColIndHost = new int[] { 0, 2, 4, 6, 1, 4, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 9 };
//Index in column vector where a new row starts